Currently

Reading: Chasing the Milky Way. I’m reading with a teacher and a group of fifth graders. So far, so good. It is definitely a reminder to why you should ALWAYS read a book before you read it with students. The bipolar mother’s choice of words when she is about to come down from a high is less than ideal.

Eating: Some chocolate popcorn cakes. They basically taste like chocolate cardboard, but they give me my sweet fix.

Doing: Looking for ideas for our new kitchen on Pinterest. It’s so overwhelming. I have the hardest time making decisions, so a new kitchen full of decisions is almost too much for me.

Wearing: My black yoga pants. I have several pairs that are part of my weeknight evening uniform. The pair I’m wearing at the moment are so worn out the bottoms are starting to fray.

Learning: How to crochet. I’m teaching myself how to do it. I don’t really don’t have a lot of time to do it, but it relaxes me, so I try to fit it in when I can. I finished a very simple scarf, and I’m now starting a blanket.

Working on: Reading Lucy Calkin’s Unit of Study on memoirs for upcoming collaboration meetings with 5th grade. It’s an interesting idea to have 5th graders write memoirs to wrap up their elementary career.

Watching: The season finale of Girls. It took me a little while to get into it, but it is such a smart show. Plus you have to respect Lena Dunham’s outlook on life.

Feeling: Tired. Mondays are always exhausting. I’m looking forward to snuggling with my pillow tonight.

Loving:  Being a part of this writing community. I’m so glad I decided to join the Slice of Life Challenge.

What are you currently doing?

2 thoughts on “Currently

  1. Ha – I watched the season finale of Girls tonight too! I definitely enjoy it. I am also trying to acquaint myself with the Calkins Units of Study – I need to look at the informational writing piece for 8th grade. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

