Having Faith

Yesterday a friend and I talked about a career move for her. She seemed so confident in her possible decision. At one point in the conversation, she mentioned that she had prayed about it, and she felt that she is doing the right thing. The feeling that I had at that moment is not one I’m proud of. I was jealous.

I was not jealous of the career change or the confidence she had. I was jealous that she was able to get there through prayer. That is not something I do. I realized that what she was saying is that her faith is strong enough that she relied on it to help her make important life decisions. This is not something I have.

When my son was born 5 weeks early, a good friend told me she was praying for my new little family. I remember be thankful that she was doing that because I knew she knew what she was doing. I prayed as well, but it felt foreign to me. It had been a long time since I prayed in a time of need, and I wasn’t sure if anyone was listening.

I wrote a post a while back about writers writing to change things. A reader commented that she writes to change herself. I’m going to agree with her on that. I am writing this post as a commitment to change. If I want to be person that has more faith in God, then I’m the only one who can start that journey.

7 thoughts on “Having Faith

  1. My prayer life is also something o have struggled with. I have found that keeping a prayer journal really helps. I am able to look at answered prayers and prayers that are still “pending”. Hope this helps!!

    Like

  2. I find one of the most amazing things about prayer is that God wants me to come to him. Then I think of how much I the parent of adult children enjoy my children choosing to come and converse, share and even complain. I hope your journey brings you closer.

    Like

  3. Thank you so much post. Your honesty probably hits home for many; I know it does for me. For me, prayer is something that definitely starts with baby steps. Whenever I try to push myself, it seems like I don’t really listen to what God is telling me. Peace to you.

    Like

  4. What a really honest and open slice! I guess I thought that your blog name reflected a religious tone – so this really did interest me. I can totally relate. I don’t quite understand prayer. I try it. I do it. But, I’m not sure about it. Thanks for this – it really makes me feel like there are others out there like me.

    Like

  5. I appreciate your transparency. Prayer is a conversation, and many times, it doesn’t feel like God hears or responds to our prayers. Know that he does hear you and he loves you – even if you don’t get the answer you desired. Keeping a prayer journal has been important in my own faith journey, and it’s allowed me to see God working in ways that I wouldn’t necessarily have anticipated. Blessings to you!

    Like

  6. Looks like your post struck a chord. Your sentences about writers write to change the world and themselves could easily translate into prayers (as in people who pray) pray to change the world and themselves. Just as it is hard to find one’s identity as a writer, the same can be said for prayers. The act of praying is the same as the act of writing. It is the doing that creates the being and vice versa.

    Like

Leave a Reply

