Living like a Writer

I have spent years teaching students to “live like a writer”. As I instructed in them in the meaning of that phrase, I would look for examples from my own life that could be used to teach getting to the heart of a story or using dialogue to build suspense. Once I found an example, I used it in my lesson plan, jotted it down for the future, and felt a sense of relief. I would not have to think about a real life example for that again. Cross it off the list.

Now I am truly “living like a writer” as I partake in the SOL challenge. I see things, read things, hear things that make me pause and think, hmmm, could I write a post about that?

I now for the first time understand what I have long asked students to do. It is certainly no easy task. To write about small moments of one’s life takes a careful eye and a thoughtful pen. I hope to be more aware of the possible struggles students might have when I ask them to do this in the future.

5 thoughts on “Living like a Writer

  1. Cathy Thompson says:

    Agreed. The best part of this challenge is finding myself noticing things around me. Thinking about everything as a possible slice. We are better teachers because we are participating.

    Like

  2. I have felt the same way… The slice of life challenge has opened my eyes to the stories around me and helped my students do the same. Now my students know when I talk about writing struggles it is from the voice of experience.

    Like

  3. Hallelujah!!! You said it, girlfriend!!! I hope you sing this from the rooftops. PLEASE. What you have said here is so, so, so important!!!! And, it is something that only we – we who write – can truly know. Such an important lesson learned. YES!!!

    Like

  4. The points that you make here are so true. To truly teach writing I do believe that the teacher must also be a writer, in that sense I mean someone who practices writing and the writing process. I sometimes think teachers are intimidated because they see the product of others, and then feel as though their own attempt at writing does not measure up. It is important to value the process of writing, and consider yourself a practicing writer if you engage in the practice of writing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

