Bringing Books

Amazon boxes have taken over my office. Every corner of the room is filled with boxes of books. Chapter books, pictures books, nonfiction books. There are old classics like Nancy Drew and new favorites like Clementine. Every day for the past two weeks I’ve gotten the same email from the business office. “There are more Amazon boxes for you.”

Teachers created wish lists and I did the purchasing with funds from a generous literacy grant. Some teachers created the lists with their students. Others gave me some general guidelines and asked me to do the selecting. No matter how the list was generated, one thing is always true. The day I get to deliver books to each classrooms is one of my favorites.

I love to see students excited about books, and bringing in brand new books is a great way to see students thrilled to get their hands on books. Some teachers really make a production about the new books. One teacher stopped everything, sat down with all the new books, and gave her students a quick book talk about each of the books. Those students could not wait to start reading. Another teacher planned the day I would bring the books into her room and had balloons all over the place. Her students celebrated the new books with a true book party. Not all the teachers create quite this excitement, but all of them are helping put books in the hands of students.

Being a part of putting books in the hand of students is such a fulfilling part of my day. It’s my hope that by getting more books into their classroom libraries will make them more excited and motivated to read.

“I have a passion for teaching kids to become readers, to become comfortable with a book, not daunted. Books shouldn’t be daunting, they should be funny, exciting and wonderful; and learning to be a reader gives a terrific advantage.”
Roald Dahl

One thought on “Bringing Books

Leave a Reply

