Remodeling

My husband and I are remodeling a house. Luckily, we are not living the house as we remodel it. Often, my work at the house consists of cleaning up or some minor demolition. Tonight I got to show that I can be much more helpful; I just need to feel comfortable doing the tasks given to me.

See, he’s always asking me to do tasks that I simply don’t feel that I am capable of doing. Telling me to screw in yada-yada to the thingy-ma-bob on the wall is not something I feel like I can do. I don’t want to use the really scary looking saw to cut that piece of wood to 3 5/16ths. I’m willing to learn, but I also want to learn on my own terms. I don’t want to be forced to try to do things or use tools that I am nervous about.

Tonight, I spent a few minutes explaining to my loving husband how I was feeling about my part in the remodel. I want to be helpful, but I don’t want to have to do tasks that I don’t feel comfortable with. You know what I learned tonight? I’m excellent at cutting drywall. Even my husband commented on what a great job I was doing. By working together, we were able to get the rest of the drywall up. As much as he wanted me to try, I really didn’t feel comfortable screwing the drywall in. I know that I should have at least tried, but I didn’t want to mess it up.

I love the work that my husband and I are doing together. I’m so proud every time I look at the rooms we are renovating and see all the hard work that has gone into it. I know I have to take more risks and be more willing to step out of my comfort zone as we continue the remodel. For now, I’ll stick to cutting drywall and taping rooms for paint. Maybe, I’ll give that scary saw a try sometime soon.

2 thoughts on “Remodeling

  1. Good job finding a job you feel comfortable with! We are remodeling the house we are living in… man is it stressful! A lot of the work is stuff I don’t really want to do… which I often feel guilty about, but I do my fair share of the other stuff!

    Like

Leave a Reply

