Ready…Set…Go!

I’ve always wanted to do this. I really have. I’ve read blogs for so long and thought, “I could do this.” I don’t mean “I could do this” in the way that I think it is so easy that I could obviously do it. I mean “I could do this” in a way that I have ideas and thoughts about so much that I should start to write them down.

Then I got so bogged down on getting started. How often should I plan to write? Which platform to use? Would anyone ever read it? Would I care if anyone reads it?

Don’t even get me started on what I would write about. My job as a literacy coach? I could talk for days or months about teaching and all things literacy. My adorable son and the constant love I have for him and my longing for naptime on some days? What about my cooking? I love to take recipes and mash them together to try out new things. I could even write about the home remodel that my wonderful husband and I are doing. As I write this, I’m sporting a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle band-aid from a drywall injury. This made my head spin so much that I finally quit the idea altogether.

Fast forward to this week. I was looking for some writing workshop ideas and stumbled upon the Slice of Life challenge. It was like…BOOM! I need to do this. I need to try this. If I hate it at the end of the 31 days, then at least I will have given it a try and know that it’s not something for me.

You might be wondering why I ultimately decided to write about literacy. More on that later…

Leave a Reply

